Political History

By Andrew Donovan

  • Utica has had five Mayors since the start of the Boilermaker. They are Stephen J. Pawlinga (1978-1983), Louis D. LaPolla (1984-1995), Edward A. Hanna (1996-2000), Timothy J. Julian (2000-2007) and David P. Roefaro (2008-present). 
  • Edward Hanna commissioned the finish line arch.
  • Timothy Julian is the only Mayor of Utica to run the Boilermaker.
  • The hottest Boilermaker was a scorching 92 degrees on July 10, 1988 
  • Oneida County has had ten County Executives. They are William E. Bryant (1974-1979), Antoinette Hyer (1979), Seymour Greene (1979), Michael Nasser (1979), Sherwood L. Boehlert (1980-1982), John D. Plumley 1983-1991, Raymond A. Meier (1991-1996), Ralph J. Eannace Jr.(1997-2003), Joseph A. Griffo (2003-2006) and Anthony J. Picente, Jr. (2007 – present) 
  • New York State has also had five Governors since the start of the Boilermaker. They are Hugh Carey (1975-1982), Mario Cuomo (1983-1994), George Pataki (1995-2006), Eliot Spitzer (2007-2008) and David Paterson (2008 – present) 
  • George Pataki was the first Governor of New York to attend the Boilermaker (2002). He is the only Governor to hold the finish line banner.
  • Eliot Spitzer was the first Governor to run in a Boilermaker. He ran as a candidate with opponent John Faso in the 5K Road Race in 2006. Faso beat Spitzer by 14 seconds.
  • In 2007, Spitzer came back as Governor and ran the 5K Road Race again.
  • David Paterson is the only New York Governor to run the Boilermaker 15K Road Race. 
  • The Untied States has had six Presidents since the start of the Boilermaker. They are Jimmy Carter (1977-1981), Ronald Reagan (1981-1989), George H.W. Bush (1989-1993), William J. Clinton (1993-2001), George W. Bush (2001-2009) and Barack H. Obama (2009- present). 


Most Popular

What's On