Central New York counties approved for FEMA assistance

WASHINGTON (WKTV) - After two weeks of waiting, Central New York was approved by FEMA for public assistance after President Barack Obama declared it a major disaster.

The counties currently eligible for federal funding are: Allegany, Chenango, Cortland, Delaware, Franklin, Herkimer, Madison, Montgomery, Niagara, Oneida, Otsego and Warren.

Locally, the Mohawk Valley and City of Oneida were hardest hit.

Gov. Andrew Cuomo says he requested the federal aid for the more than $32.7 million in damage to public infrastructure in June. He says the federal funds will help the affected counties rebuild.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency says it is assessing whether more counties may be eligible for assistance.

Vincent Bono the chairman of the Herkimer County Legislature feels as though this is a move in the right direction.

"We're pleased that the public assistance side is announced," he said. "We were told that we would probably meet threshold and we did. Now, it's just as important to get individual assistance and needs addressed. We're keeping our fingers crossed."

What's On