199th session graduation from the NY State Police Basic School

By NEWSChannel 2 Staff

Governor Andrew Cuomo addressed 192 new members of the New York State Police at the 199th session graduation ceremony from the Basic School of the New York State Police Academy.

"Today's graduates join the ranks of courageous men and women who work tirelessly to protect the people of New York," said Governor Cuomo. "I am grateful for the outstanding work that members of the New York State Police do every day to keep our state safe. On behalf of New Yorkers everywhere, I congratulate today's graduates and their families, and thank them for their commitment to service."

"This graduating class is the newest generation of men and women who will serve the citizens of New York State with honor and integrity," said New York State Police Superintendent Joseph A. D'Amico. "To our graduates, today is a celebration of the hard work and perseverance you have shown during your 26 weeks of difficult training. I congratulate all of our new Troopers, and I am proud to welcome them to our ranks."

In addition to honoring all graduates from the 199th Session of Basic School, Superintendent D'Amico presented the following awards:

· Trooper Carlos V. Spencer, 35, of Buffalo, NY was elected as class representative. He will be assigned to Troop D.

· The winner of the "Academic Performance Award" is Trooper Devin A. Dunn, age 27, of Lancaster, NY. Throughout the Academy training program, he achieved an overall academic average of 98.36 percent. He will be assigned to Troop E.

· The winner of the "Superintendent's Firearms Proficiency Award" is Trooper Devin R. Bacon, age 28, of Stafford, NY. During firearms training, he fired an average score of 250 out of a possible 250. He will be assigned to Troop E.

· The winner of the "Joseph T. Aversa Physical Training Award" is Trooper Zachary A. Eppler, age 25, of Plattsburgh, NY. During the physical agility testing, he achieved the highest score of all 192 members of the 199th Session, a tribute to his physical conditioning. He will be assigned to Troop B.

The graduation ceremony was held at the Empire State Plaza Convention Hall in Albany where the new troopers marched into the convention center in a procession lead by the New York State Police Pipe and Drum band. The National Anthem was performed by Trooper Daniel Brown. The ceremony included a video presentation of the training received by all members of the 199th Basic School Session.

The new troopers will report for field duty on June 3, 2013 and July 8, 2013 respectively. For the following 10 weeks the new troopers will be evaluated under a field-training program supervised by senior Field Training Officers.

The following is a list of graduates and their hometowns, whom will report to duty at Troop C (sidney) and Troop D (Oneida):

Troop C - Sidney

  • Derek C. Aloisi - Greenville
  • Steven Belgiovene - Rock Hill
  • Jermaine R. Benton - Brooklyn
  • Thomas G. Brennan - Tomkins Cove
  • Brian S. Buchanan - Brooklyn
  • Alexander S. Chonski - Waterford
  • Mayra A. Colon - Middletown
  • Barbara M. Crosby - Dundee
  • Christopher M. Czachor - Schoharie
  • Nichole M. Dioguardi - Perry
  • Jason A. Dutcher - Schenectady
  • Jeremy N. Dziuban - Waterville
  • Andrew C. Freeman - Wallkill
  • Nicholas S. Gallipani - Brewster
  • Homer X. Garcia - Yonkers
  • Joshua D. Greenman - Otego
  • Cait-E.S. Kiani - Selkirk
  • Benjamin C. Leonard - Vestal
  • Zachary S. Malone - East Schodack
  • Christopher R. Mckenna - West Babylon
  • Paul Montanez - West Babylon
  • James L. Moscato - Orchard Park
  • Michael J. O'Flaherty - Millbrook
  • Thomas W. Orbacz - Congers
  • Andrew W. Palladino - Lindenhurst
  • Carlos A. Pion - Brooklyn
  • Kenneth D. Plate - West Nyack
  • Lyle C. Preston - Binghamton
  • Mary A. Reynolds - Apalachin
  • Ariann E. Richards - Queensbury
  • Argenis Rivera - New York City
  • Jason W. Shaw - Franklin Square
  • Kyle J. Stafford - Monticello
  • Keri L. Starr - Newburgh
  • Aaron E. Teichner - Melrose
  • Ryan M. Teifer - Apalachin
  • Lauren F. Warner - Richmondville
  • Lynnea N. Whitemore - Oneonta
  • Thaddeus J. Wroblewski - Flushing

Troop D - Oneida


  • Holly M. Armendola - McKeever
  • Christopher A. Azzolini - Scarsdale
  • Travis C. Bauer - Deansboro
  • Matthew H. Bowers Jr - Glvoersville
  • Brian K. Caltabiano - Phoenix
  • Anthony E. Chartrand - Harrisville
  • Joshua D. Cross - Cassadaga
  • David A. Dare - Utica
  • Joel R. Davis - Evans Mills
  • David J. Delgado - Middletown
  • Chad J. Doner - Syracuse
  • Dominic P. D'Orsaneo - Kenmore
  • Jeffrey C. Duck - Clay
  • Elizabeth A. Fallon - Liverpool
  • Adam K. Ferstand - Middletown
  • Mark A. Gaetano - Whitesboro
  • Karen A. Granger - Minoa
  • Jennifer A. Greenwood - Cold Brook
  • Tyler M. Grey - Sackets Harbor
  • David T. Haug - North Tonowanda
  • Gregory J. Havas - Williamsville
  • Edward E. Haynes - Rome
  • Jeffrey M. Hogan - Utica
  • Sebastian C. Horton - Baldwinsville
  • Timothy J. Krause Jr - Cohoes
  • Michael D. Lenaghen - Utica
  • Bryan T. Leonard - Yorktown Heights
  • Joseph C. Leworthy - Morrisville
  • Robert T. Luke - Latham
  • Gregory T. Majo - Adams Center
  • Andrew F. Maurer - Rome
  • Yudisniel Mesa - Syracuse
  • Tyler L. Meyer - Holland Point
  • Craig M. Peffer - Sackets Harbor
  • Michael D. Petrie - Clayville
  • Carl E. Planty - Utica
  • Lance S. Roczen - Barneveld
  • Michael O. Rucksdaschel - Getzville
  • Carlos V. Spencer - Cheektowaga
  • Christopher Swienton - Frankfort
  • Robert R. VanJohnson - Woodbourne
  • Jeffrey G. Wegrzyn - New York Mills
  • Krystal L. Wheeler - Copenhagen

What's On