More Prominent Players Join The Turning Stone Resort Championship

By Oneida Nation Media Relations

Oneida Nation Homelands - The latest list of players scheduled to appear in The Turning Stone Resort Championship contains several professionals who have registered PGA TOUR victories in 2009 and many others who are major champions.

 Davis Love III, a winner of 20 events including the 1997 PGA Championship, is revisiting Atunyote Golf Club where he tied for third at last year’s event.

Other major winners include 2002 PGA Championship winner Rich Beem and British Open champions Todd Hamilton (2004), Ben Curtis (2003), David Duval (2001) and Mark Calcavecchia (1989). This will be the first trip for Curtis, while the others are making return engagements to The Turning Stone Resort Championship.

Michael Sim will make Turning Stone his first stop since earning a promotion to the PGA TOUR by winning three times this year on the Nationwide Tour. The 24-year-old Aussie has climbed to No. 64 in the official World Golf Rankings. He joins eight other players who have earned the three-win promotion, including fellow countryman Nick Flanagan who made The Turning Stone Resort Championship his debut appearance as a PGA TOUR member in 2007.  

Rory Sabbatini is playing here for the first time. The South African earned his fifth PGA TOUR title earlier this year at the Byron Nelson Championship. He is 18th on the money list with $2.6 million.

Ryan Moore collected his first win at the 2009 Wyndhman Championship, besting Kevin Stadler and Jason Bohn in a playoff. Both Stadler and Bohn are also scheduled to be in the Turning Stone field.

 Mark Wilson claimed top prize at this season’s Mayakoba Golf Classic. His $1.8 million in earnings places him 39th on the list. 

The Turning Stone Resort Championship is scheduled for Sept. 28-Oct. 4 at The Oneida Indian Nation’s Atunyote Golf Club. It’s the first, and richest, event in the PGA TOUR’s Fall Series. A field of 132 players will compete for a $6 million purse, including more than $1 million to the winner.

For more information, visit


What's On