National Distance Running Hall of Fame, Utica, NY


National Distance Running HOF Class of 2010 announced

By Sports WKTV

UTICA, N.Y. - The National Distance Running Hall of Fame has announced tgat Dick Beardsley and Miki Gorman are the Class of 2010. The two will be inducted on Saturday July 10 at 3:00 p.m. during the Boilermaker Expo at the Masonic Care Community. 

Beardsley, one of the fastest American male marathoners, was a joint winner of the first London Marathon in 1981.  Dick had many strong running performances throughout the 1980s. He is perhaps most famous for the 1982 Boston Marathon ‘Duel in the Sun’ race vs. Alberto Salazar .He went on to suffer several life threatening accidents including a farm injury and other severe car accidents.  Two decades later, after a long recovery process, Beardsley is now back to running long distances and also acts as a motivational speaker, encouraging children and young adults to live healthy lifestyles.  A Minneapolis, MN native, Beardsley will travel from his home in Texas for the ceremony in Utica.

Gorman, the only woman to win the New York City and Boston Marathons twice, emigrated to the United States nearly 40 years ago.  A powerful running force in the late 1970s, the Asian American once ran a 100-mile run in just over 21 hours.  Now residing in Los Angeles, she is the last American woman to win the New York City Marathon.

This weekend, Tim Reed, executive director of the National Distance Running Hall of Fame/Boilermaker Road Race revealed the 2010 Hall of Fame class at the Boston Marathon.

“We’re very excited about this year’s honorees,” Reed explained.  “After an absence in the ceremony last year, we feel that these two tremendous runners will generate a ton of buzz during Boilermaker weekend.  Both Beardsley and Gorman made extraordinary contributions to the sport of running and we are proud to honor them in Utica this summer.”

The Hall of Fame voting committee, consisting of national leaders in the running community, as well as past inductees, selected this year’s honorees. Current Hall of Famers include: Bill Rodgers, Joan Benoit Samuelson, Frank Shorter, Kathrine Switzer, John J. Kelley, Nina Kuscsik, Alberto Salazar, Amby Burfoot, and Johnny Hayes.

For more information about the Hall of Fame induction, contact the Hall of Fame at (315) 724-4525.

What's On