New Hartford takes second straight hockey title


UTICA, N.Y. (WKTV) - The New Hartford Spartans won their second straight Divison 2 State Championship title, beating Queensbury 5-2 Sunday at the Utica Memorial Auditorium.  Alex Fukes had three points, including two of the first three New Hartford goals.  Spencer Landry had 32 saves, including several in a brutal second period stretch when Queensbury had a 5-on-3 advantage and came away with no goals.

Also scoring for New Hartford were Mike Critelli, Clayton Whittemore and Jason Fitzgerald.

Whittemore received the Division II Player of the Year, while head coach John Cunningham received the coach of the year award.  Fitzgerald, Whittemore and Chris Luker were named to the All-State First team, as well as the All-Tournament team, joined by Fukes and Landry.

New Hartford is the first Division II team to win back to back titles since Clinton in 2005-06.

For a complete play-by-play recap of the game, check out our live blog.

What's On