Utica Comets


Comets name inaugural opening night roster


Utica, N.Y.- The Utica Comets, American Hockey League affiliate of the National Hockey League's Vancouver Canucks, announced Friday its opening night roster for the team's inaugural season.
The team consists of 25 players: 13 forwards, 10 defensemen, and two goaltenders. Those players are:

Forwards: Darren Archibald, Ludwig Blomstrand, Brandon DeFazio, Benn Ferriero, Alex Friesen, Alexandre Grenier, Zach Hamill, Kellan Lain, Alexandre Mallet, David Pacan, Pascal Pelletier, Colin Stuart, Jeremy Welsh.

Defensemen: Peter Andersson, Alex Biega, Jeremie Blain, Frank Corrado, Sacha Guimond, Patrick Mullen, John Negrin, Adam Polasek, Yann Sauve, Henrik Tommernes

Goaltenders: Joacim Eriksson, Joe Cannata

The Comets lineup features 22 players under NHL contracts with Vancouver, and three players on AHL contracts: Sacha Guimond, John Negrin, and David Pacan.

The Comets open up the 2013-14 regular season in Rochester against the Americans on Friday, Oct. 11 at 7:00 p.m. Tiny's Grill and the Comets are teaming up to offer fans a fan bus trip to the Oct. 11 game. Bus trip tickets are available by calling the Comets ticket office at (315)790-9070.

What's On