President declares federal emergency for NY

By WKTV News

WASHINGTON, D.C. (WKTV) - President Obama has declared a federal emergency for the Empire State, following the flooding aftermath of Tropical Storm Lee.

The declaration means that the Federal Emergency Management Agency, or FEMA, can help with local and state flood recovery efforts.  The following local counties are among the municipalities that can receive help:  Oneida, Herkimer, Otsego, Chenango and Montgomery.

Federal aid will be used to supplement relief efforts.

Most Popular

What's On