ORISKANY, N.Y. -- Oneida County Sheriff Robert Maciol has announced the first of the 2019 dates that the sheriff's Marine Patrol will be offering the New York State Boater Safety Course.
The first class will be on March 23 at the Oneida County Department of Public Works conference room starting at 9 a.m.
This class is limited to 20 students and additional classes will be offered at a later date if needed.
To sign up for this free, 8-hour class, just call the Oneida County Sheriff's Office at 315-765-2222.
In New York state, you must hold a safety certificate if:
• You were born on or after May 1st 1996 and you will be operating a motorboat.
• You operate a personal watercraft (PWC) and are at least 14 years of age and older (as of 1/1/2009 you must be 14 years old to operate a PWC alone.)
• If you are less than 10 years old, you may operate a motorboat (non-PWC) only if someone
- Free NYS Boater Safety Course offered in Oriskany, registration required
- New state law to strengthen boater safety
- Another bed bug found at MetLife in Oriskany; Company offers employees free home inspection
- Oneida County Sheriff's Office announces 2018 boater safety courses
- Oneida County Sheriff's Office talks importance of boater safety
- NY Assembly renews push for early voting, easy registration
- New bill exempts vintage snowmobiles from NYS registration fee
- NY legislation would require Epipen training for teachers
- NY may require feminine hygiene products to list ingredients
- Divers search Oneida Lake for missing boater