A new state law goes into effect on Monday for new standards for newly purchased smoke detectors.
The law requires all smoke detectors sold in New York state to be powered by a 10-year, sealed, non-removable battery or for that device to be hardwired to the home.
It goes into effect on April 1.
- Reminder: New state law begins Monday for newly purchased smoke detectors
- New smoke detector law in New York State
- 500 Homes Receive Free Smoke Detectors
- Winter Reminders
- Newly renovated 110-year-old courthouse
- MVHS Purchase option agreement deadline
- State reminds farmers of tax credit programs available this year
- No butts: Law bars smoking at home day care centers
- Kaitlyn Conley murder trial to begin Monday