SEVERE WX : Winter Weather Advisory View Alerts

State fair to offer free NARCAN training and 'Stomp Out Stigma Day'

New to the Great New York State Fair this year will be free NARCAN training courses and “Stomp Out Stigma Day” on Friday, Aug. 31.

Posted: Aug 14, 2018 4:43 PM

New to the Great New York State Fair this year will be free NARCAN training courses and “Stomp Out Stigma Day” on Friday, Aug. 31.

NARCAN is a life-saving drug that can reverse the effects of opioid overdose. Free training classes on the use of NARCAN will be held at 11:30 a.m., 1:30 p.m. and 3:30 p.m. in the Empire Room on Aug. 31.

In the Science and Industry Building, free NARCAN training will also be held at the following dates and times:

- Wednesday, August 22: 11 a.m. and 7 p.m.
- Thursday, August 23: 11 a.m. and 7 p.m.
- Friday, August 24: 11 a.m.
- Saturday, August 25: 7 p.m.
- Monday, August 27: 11 a.m.
- Tuesday, August 28: 11 a.m. and 7 p.m.
- Wednesday, August 29: 11 a.m. and 7 p.m.
- Thursday, August 30: 11 a.m. and 7 p.m.
- Sunday, September 2: 11 a.m. and 7 p.m.
- Monday, September 3: 11 a.m. and 7 p.m.

During Stomp Out Stigma Day, an Information Fair will be held at Chevy Court from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

“Addiction is a disease that affects members of every community, regardless of age, gender, or other factors, and it is important that people know that help is available, and recovery is possible,” said Arlene González-Sánchez, commissioner of the New York State Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services. “New York State is working tirelessly to end the stigma against addiction and treatment, and get people access to the help they need to rebuild their lives.”

For more information about Stomp Out Stigma Day, click here.

Article Comments

Utica
Overcast
39° wxIcon
Hi: 34° Lo: 35°
Feels Like: 34°
Oneonta
Overcast
35° wxIcon
Hi: 34° Lo: 33°
Feels Like: 28°
Herkimer
Overcast
39° wxIcon
Hi: 33° Lo: 36°
Feels Like: 34°
Thendara
Overcast
39° wxIcon
Hi: 30° Lo: 30°
Feels Like: 34°
WKTV Radar
WKTV Temperatures
WKTV Severe Weather
Click here to learn more about A Healthier Mohawk Valley
23 courses for only $79.99
Stuff the Bus Locations
Home Free Contest
Flood Coverage